top of page
  • Writer's pictureBenz Baby

Smooth Skin Using GIMP

As Requested ....


There are two methods I use to give the effect of smooth skin on my art!


First, I use the "Blur" tool and turn the -rate- up to 100% (the tool that looks like a blue tear drop). I blur all the imperfections out of the skin over and over until it looks soft and smooth. This is quick way to make your skin look flawless and smooth, it works amazing for full body edits as well.


The second method I use is repainting over the existing Avi. I create a new layer - skin- and use the airbrush tool (as seen in my youtube videos) to paint over my avi...I then use the eraser to clean up the excess -skin tone- . the airbrush tool will make the skin look silky and flawless. I prefer using this method more to have my skin look unified and more even in tone.


Tip: don't be afraid to get sloppy and make mistakes, its apart of learning. If you watch the video, my avi looks like a hot mess, it can be very discouraging when things dont look perfect. But, with some patience, and practice, the end result could be something amazing. The great thing about layers, is that, if you make a mistake, or you dont like the way your edit is starting to look, you can just delete a layer and you dont need to start again.


Tip2: Your lines, your details, and the way you edit DOES NOT need to be perfect, it will drive you crazy, sometimes those uneven lines or mistakes make your art look better. If you focus too much on perfection, you get discouraged and lose interest in your edit instead of letting things flow and evolve, you can always go back and change those small details later (because they should be on their own layer )


Youtube Video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WEgmdVHfexU

Pinterest: Inspiration Art I like: https://www.pinterest.ca/Lbenzbaby/inspiration-art/


574 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page